Wedding Cake Cost??

Decorating By littleladyk Updated 7 Nov 2011 , 1:34am by littleladyk

littleladyk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littleladyk Posted 6 Nov 2011 , 2:55am
post #1 of 9

Hi All!

I am making my very first wedding cake and am curious about how much you all would charge for a 2 tier white buttercream iced cake with some fondant flowers on the top, that feeds 60 people, and she also wants about 30 cupcakes.

Now keep in mind this will be my first wedding cake so i dont want to charge to much being im still a rookie icon_smile.gif

Thanks for your help!!!
Keri

8 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 6 Nov 2011 , 3:46am
post #2 of 9

Before you charge for the cake you'll want to make sure you can legally do so...some states have cottage food laws that allow you to sell food made at home, but other states require a licensed and inspected commercial kitchen.

To calculate a price for the cake and the cupcakes, you'll want to add up your costs for ingredients, labor (how much time it will take you multiplied by a reasonable hourly wage), and overhead (things like liability insurance and utilities on a per-order basis), then add 20-30% for your profit margin.

We start at $5/serving for tiered cakes and $30/dozen for cupcakes, but we are in CA so we have to rent a commercial kitchen. A home-based baker could probably price the cake in the ballpark of $3/serving.

JennTheCakeLadie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennTheCakeLadie Posted 6 Nov 2011 , 5:26am
post #3 of 9