How To Fill A Cake With Fresh Strawberries And Cream?

Decorating By mcsok Updated 29 Oct 2011 , 6:01pm by mariacakestoo

mcsok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcsok Posted 28 Oct 2011 , 1:14pm
post #1 of 12

Hi,

I'm fairly new at making cakes and I've been asked to make a cake for a friend's wedding. Sponge cake filled with fresh strawberries (not jam or preserves and cream) all to be covered in fondant.

I'd love any tips you can give me on how to do the filling properly and the best cake sponge recipe to go with this please.

1.Do I have to worry about the strawberries moulding?
2. Any good recipes for the whipped cream?
3. Do I have to keep the cake refrigerated at all times?
4. How long is it okay to sit out at the wedding?

Thanks in advance for your help!

11 replies
Panel7124 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Panel7124 Posted 28 Oct 2011 , 1:57pm
post #2 of 12

THAT is exactly what all the Italians here are asking for - sponge cake, whipped cream and strawberries. If somebody calls to order a fondant covered cake, I immediately say 'NO whipped cream' (bad experience), especially for wedding cake. I'm ok to do it WITHOUT FONDANT. Maybe somebody else will give you another reply. Good luck!

bakingkat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingkat Posted 28 Oct 2011 , 2:04pm
post #3 of 12

I do chopped up or sliced strawberries on the cake and then use non dairy pastry pride for the whipped cream(with a thick dam). When I do this filling I fill the day before and let settle in the fridge overnight. Pull it out and frost and deliver. Never had a problem. I wouldn't trust whip cream though, I'd be afraid it would just turn liquid. Maybe look up stabilized whipped cream fillings.

mcsok Posted 28 Oct 2011 , 2:47pm
post #4 of 12

Okay - so what is my whip cream alternative? Butter cream? What is 'non-dairy pastry pride?' - I live in Ireland so if that's a brand name I'm sure we don't get it here! icon_smile.gif

Panel7124 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile