Fondant Over Cream Cheese Frosting??? Need Help.

Decorating By dawnybird Updated 4 Oct 2011 , 10:27pm by dawnybird

dawnybird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawnybird Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:03pm
post #1 of 6

Hi. As a newbie, I'm so appreciative to those of you who are willing to share your experience. I have read that you should not put fondant on cream cheese frosting. Is that true? If so, why? I'm making the crusting lemon cream cheese b/c from this site and would like to cover it with fondant. I'm new to fondant as well. Only used it twice before. Thanks in advance!

5 replies
jmr531 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmr531 Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:13pm
post #2 of 6

I'm not sure about the science behind it, but I've read that cream cheese has a reaction with fondant that makes it break down and become very soft, almost like melting. I would advise that instead of using the frosting all around the cake, just use it as a filling and crumb coat. Then cover the cake with either buttercream, dark chocolate ganache, or white chocolate ganache before covering it with fondant.

cakestyles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestyles Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:33pm
post #3 of 6

I agree with the previous post...cc bc is really not good under fondant.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 4 Oct 2011 , 8:34pm
post #4 of 6