Pans And Brands For A Novice

Decorating By Merrill Updated 8 Oct 2011 , 7:53pm by heyjules

Merrill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Merrill Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 26

I am a complete novice attempting to furnish the kitchen with a few quality pans and supplies. As a left-brain man with a penchant for orderliness, I also would like them to match if it makes sense. That way, if I try baking and find I am no good at it, I at least can open the cupboard doors, look in, and be pleased with myself for having a reasonably well-equipped, orderly cupboard.

I have been researching online, and the more I look and learn, the more my head swims with options. I know it shouldn't be this hard, so will one or a few of you help me out with the answers to a few specific questions?

I probably should first say that I have three Corning Cornflower pieces -- two bake trays and an 8 x 8 bake dish.

1. I'm thinking that I should start with a 9 x 13 rectangular cake pan and two round cake pans of the same size (to allow for a two-layer cake). Should they be 8", 9", or 10", and should they be 2" or 3" high?

2. Based upon various conflicting rave notices, I've been able to narrow the brands down to Chicago Metallic or Magic Line or WS Gold Touch. I don't know which to choose, and whether to get dark or light, nonstick or non-nonstick. It appears Gold Touch is made in America, and Chicago Metallic no longer is. I don't know about Magic Line. It seems Chicago Metallic is heaviest and bakes quickest, and Magic Line has the truest sides and angles. I don't know which one makes the best cakes. What should I get here in the sizes indicated in (1)?

3. It seems there are silpats and/or parchment to use on the pan bottoms and strips to use on the sides. I think they are supposed to be used to prevent sticking? If that is right, are they necessary with the right pan?