How Many Clients Don't Pay On Time (Or At All)?

Business By Apti Updated 17 Sep 2011 , 5:36pm by ReneeFLL

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 3:09am
post #1 of 22

Hi everyone. Let me start by saying that I'm a hobby baker and have IMMENSE respect for those of you who do custom cakes for a living.

On these forums we so often hear the lament, "The wedding/party/event is in 1/2/3 days and I haven't been paid. What should I do?"

I'm really curious, how often does it really happen that someone doesn't pay on time and has to be reminded? Are these people just overwhelmed or ditzy or what? Have any of you NOT delivered a cake because of non-payment?

21 replies
cakelady2266 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady2266 Posted 14 Sep 2011 , 3:55am
post #2 of 22

Well it happens to me a lot and I've been at this a long time. This is especially difficult since this is my full time job. At this moment I don't have contracts but it's coming to that as we speak.

All party/birthday/shower cakes has been picked up and paid for without exception. When someone books me for a wedding/anniversary I require a deposit, I tell the customer then that the balance is due 10 days before the event. I always call the client to go over everything 2-3 weeks before their event and to remind them of the balance and when it is due. This is the usual response "I'll put a check in the mail tomorrow". I have figured out tomorrow is at least 10-21 days later. If they haven't paid by Wednesday before a Saturday wedding I make another call....just checking to see if you mailed the check, this is the usual response..."Oh my dad/mom/grandmother/sister/wedding coordinator will have your check/cash at the reception site". And you guessed it, usually no one is there.