Question About Ethics...need Advice.

Business By SomethingSweetByFlo Updated 15 Aug 2011 , 2:26pm by QTCakes1

SomethingSweetByFlo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SomethingSweetByFlo Posted 13 Aug 2011 , 3:53am
post #1 of 39

Hello everyone! I am hoping that someone could give me some good advice!

I need to know what to do when a client originally came to you through an event coordinator (who received commission for joining us) comes back again for another event and doesn't involve the coordinator.

Should I still give her (the coordinator) a percentage of my profit?

Or would that only occur if the coordinator was involved?

What are your suggestions? MANY THANKS for your input!!

I'm new to the biz side of baking icon_smile.gif

38 replies
LindseyLoocy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindseyLoocy Posted 13 Aug 2011 , 4:13am
post #2 of 39

are they using the coordinator at all for their event? If not, I say you don't owe them a thing.

SomethingSweetByFlo Posted 13 Aug 2011 , 4:21am
post #3 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by LindseyLoocy

are they using the coordinator at all for their event? If not, I say you don't owe them a thing.

Nope, the client decided not to use the coordinator anymore, I'm not sure exactly why. It might be because of pricing.

Either way, I just wondered what the best thing to do when working with a coordinator.

Thanks for your reply!!

DoniB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DoniB Posted 13 Aug 2011 , 4:51am
post #4 of 39

I would say that, if you didn't sign anything with the coordinator saying you wouldn't see the client for future events, then you're off the hook.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 13 Aug 2011 , 1:40pm
post #5 of 39