Birthday Cake Pricing

Decorating By Rae9 Updated 20 Jun 2011 , 1:19am by Rae9

Rae9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rae9 Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 4:37pm
post #1 of 6

I am very new to cake decorating and am LOVING it except the pricing part. I have a couple of questions that if any of you would be so kind as to give your input I would be so grateful. I know that Birthday Cake servings are generally bigger than wedding cake how does this affect the pricing? Do you still charge per serving or would you charge for cake size? Do you charge more for a tiered cake? What about for Fondant/Gumpaste characters, would you charge per character/flower or would you just charge for the time you put in making them.....I am so confused as I want to be paid fairly but at the same rate I don't want to charge so much that nobody would want me to make them a cake...HELP!!

5 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 4:47pm
post #2 of 6

The majority of our business is birthday cakes, and customers are used to buying birthday cakes with set prices instead of per serving, so we've set fixed prices for different sizes of cake (ranging from $4/serving for smaller cakes to $2.50/serving for larger cakes). Multi-tier cakes are prices per serving, usually in the $5-7 range. Custom decorations (beyond a simple border and flowers) cost extra for either birthday cakes or multi-tier cakes based on the labor required.

A few things to watch out for: in some areas you are required to bake out of a commercial kitchen if you sell food products, but other areas allow you to sell cakes made from home. You also need to be careful about reproducing copyrighted characters, as you would need prior permission from the copyright owner to sell a cake decorated with a copyrighted character. Finally, when working out your pricing, make sure you include ingredient costs, labor costs, and overhead costs, along with a 20-30% profit margin.