Modeling Figures

Decorating By judds05 Updated 12 Jun 2011 , 1:14pm by Manderly42

judds05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
judds05 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 5:41pm
post #1 of 6

What is the best way to model figures for a cake? I know on Cake Boss they use modeling chocolate and then paint them?? Or can you use fondant? I'm a complete beginner, sorry if this is a silly question icon_smile.gif

5 replies
aprilismaius Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilismaius Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 5:58pm
post #2 of 6

i have never used modelling chocolate, so i can't comment on that. but when i have to do figure modelling, i use fondant mixed with Tylose (CMC) powder. google extraicing or aine2 for some excellent tutorials. good luck!

ayerim979 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ayerim979 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 5:59pm
post #3 of 6

you can totally use fondant, or a mixture of 50/50 which is fondant and gumpaste. But I highly recommend you take a look at Youtube. You will find wonderful tutorials there. I myself am learning as well and have found these tutorials very helpful.

cakenewbie007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakenewbie007 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 6:15pm
post #4 of 6

I just started play with making people figures and I find that modeling chocolate is so forgiving. If you make a mistake you can roll it up into a ball and start over, or add more to that one section and blend it in.

Great stuff personally...

CJCrystal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CJCrystal Posted 10 Jun 2011 , 6:43am
post #5 of 6

I've started using marizpan to practice with, as I've only ever airbrushed cakes before and nothing else.

Manderly42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Manderly42 Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 1:14pm
post #6 of 6