I'm Considering Opening A Cake And Candy Supply Store

Decorating By LadiDi Updated 19 Aug 2015 , 7:25pm by caymanancy

LadiDi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadiDi Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:02am
post #1 of 13

I've been decorating cakes for approximately 5 years now. I have a fair amount of cake supplies, which the majority were purchased at the one and only cake supply store in my town; and the remaining percentage online. I have a business plan written to open a bakery, but revenue is a problem (startup costs) since I will be required to have a seperate building for baking (permit requirement), ovens, coolers/refridgerators, etc. Over this past weekend, I found myself driving 2 hours to purchase patchwork cutters for a graduation cake because the local supply store was closed (holiday weekend). It was a light bulb moment during this trip that "maybe" I should "first" put the revenue saved towards opening a supply store and then move towards the bakery. What do you all think? What would you do? Are there ample cake supply stores in your areas? Is there an influx of cake decorators popping out of the woodwork in your areas as well? My husband seems to be more onboard with this idea than the bakery. I need to make a move soon!! Honest opinions are welcomed.

12 replies
thin4life Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thin4life Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:18am
post #2 of 13

This is something I have been wanting to do for years in my town. I live in Madison, Wi and the town is big enough to support more than one supply store. We have one that has been in business since the 80's and she is very successful so I know if I opened one up on the opposite side of town it would go over well. She also offers classes. If you have the money I say go for it! If i could write a business plan I would probably go for it, but I am too dumb to do that.

Katiebelle74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katiebelle74 Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:36am
post #3 of 13