Cricut?

Decorating By Briniga Updated 1 Jun 2011 , 8:21pm by tiggy2

Briniga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Briniga Posted 31 May 2011 , 2:21am
post #1 of 13

I'm thinking about buying a cricut, but Im not sure which one is the best to get. I dont want to pay more then like $100, is that possible? Are they worth it? I just want one that will do stuff that are hard to do on cakes like the nice swirls (not cornelli, i can do that easy) Thanks

12 replies
PaulaPea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulaPea Posted 31 May 2011 , 12:33pm
post #2 of 13

I have the smaller cricut, since I'm a hobbyist. I got mine at Joann's for $100, but had to watch the sales carefully! There is quite a learning curve and I still have some difficulty with mine, but I think I'm getting the hang of it. I'm certainly glad I bought it at any rate...love the fonts. I also have a scrapbooking cricut and the cartridges are interchangeable...I love it!

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 31 May 2011 , 12:48pm
post #3 of 13

I have the cricut cake mini. I use it mainly for lettering. I have never had any problems getting to work correctly. I just read all the threads here on CC about its use, and they helped.

ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 31 May 2011 , 1:53pm
post #4 of 13

I have the original red one. There's a bit of a learning curve, but I like it. I use it more for when I have to have multiples of a certain piece - for example butterflies, snowflakes, etc... I can just multiple sizes and quantities.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 31 May 2011 , 2:20pm
post #5 of 13