Newbie Needs Help!

Decorating By Mrs_Monkey Updated 26 May 2011 , 3:58am by Mrs_Monkey

Mrs_Monkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mrs_Monkey Posted 25 May 2011 , 6:18pm
post #1 of 8

Hello everybody, I am new to both cake decorating and this forum.
I've always had an interest in cake decorating, but only recently I have acted upon my interests and signed up for a Wiltons cake decorating class. I took the first cake decorating basics course and fell in love. Shortly after that I took the Fondant and Gumpaste course and started to play around with cakes.
To this day Ive only made two cakes only one has a disaster story(so far). Ill post pictures of both.

And in order to continue with my questions, I must say this first (Ill try to make it short). The last cake I made was for a 13 year old boy who loves playstation. So I made an 8 cake iced, covered in fondant. Than stacked 3 3x6 rice krispie treats covered in white fondant (to make a PS3 game box) and a black(ish) controller made of rice krispie treats. And once the pieces dried I leaned the controller on the games and left it like that for 24 hours.

To my horror (or any bakers horror for that matter), when I went to retrieve the cake for transport it was completely ruined. Im assuming the weight of the controller and games put too much pressure on the entire cake that it ripped the fondant in so many places I stopped counting. The cake was an entire wreck and I was so upset.

I had put over 5 hours on this cake (although it doesnt look like it) and it was gone. I have only to blame but myself for not researching ways to protect the cake so that this situation wouldnt happen. But everyone learns from their mistakes right?

So now that you know my entire story, Im giving this another try. This time I am asked (for the same family as the PS3 cake) to make a Bar-Mitza cake. They left the entire design up to me as well as the flavor of the cake and icing.