How To Stack A 4 Tier Wedding Cake?

Decorating By JLynn88 Updated 31 Jul 2012 , 4:00pm by Lynne3

JLynn88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JLynn88 Posted 17 May 2011 , 8:20pm
post #1 of 13

Hi everyone, I am going to be constructing a 4 tier wedding cake with butter-cream Frosting. I am new to the whole stacking idea and this is my first wedding cake. I am in need of some help with how to stack the cake so it is level, and supported! I am also going to have to deliver the cake fully constructed. So please anyone with any ideas or suggestions please reply!
Thanks a lot
Jamie icon_smile.gif

12 replies
cupcakemkr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemkr Posted 17 May 2011 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 13

you should look in to using SPS system - Read about it here: http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-603925.html

a 4-tiered cake is going to be VERY heavy, be sure you can handle carrying it fully constructed or be sure you have help with steady hands. icon_smile.gif

Good Luck!

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Baker_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Baker_Rose Posted 17 May 2011 , 8:33pm
post #4 of 13

Make sure you have the cake on a good board, about 3/4-inch subfloor. Fortunately I have hubby for that department. I buy the board and he cuts out the shape and size I need. I have them in different sizes for weddings and giant sheet cakes.

As for the physics of it, you should find some videos or so, it is tedious to put them together and stack, and four tiers is big for your first. Leave yourself lots of time so you aren't rushed.

Tami icon_smile.gif

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 17 May 2011 , 8:40pm
post #5 of 13