First Time Using Fondant

Decorating By Nazarine Updated 8 May 2011 , 10:56am by Nazarine

Nazarine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nazarine Posted 7 May 2011 , 11:31pm
post #1 of 13

My daughter wants one of those princess doll cakes for her 4th birthday. Her party is in 2 weeks so I bought the mold pan today, baked my cake and it's sitting there ready to decorate. But I have to wait until my 2 and 3 year olds go to bed to start it. This is my first time using royal icing, first time making a doll cake, first time covering a cake in fondant, first time making marshmallow fondant. Sooooooo, tonight will either be a disaster or a personal triumph. Hubby is working the night shift tonight so I have the house to myself and can relax and concentrate. I have a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge in case this all goes south. Worse case scenario will find me huddled on the couch in my sweatpants, ticked off, nursing a glass of wine and eating smashed cake. LOL! Wish me luck and any tips are welcome!
icon_biggrin.gif
Oh, and this isn't the cake for her birthday - this is my practice run!

12 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 8 May 2011 , 12:53am
post #2 of 13

Well, you are very ambitious! icon_eek.gif Good luck! thumbs_up.gif Have you considered using BC just for this one? Then practicing on something easier to work on your fondant skills for a bit, then trying this with fondant down the road? Just my opinion...
For my first time covering a cake in fondant, I used store bought stuff. It's tough enough to get the hang of using fondant, doing the smoothing of the crumb coat AND using your own MMF on top of that. Hmmm.... where do I start?