Stacking A Cake On A Pvc Structure

Decorating By MJTKNT Updated 26 May 2011 , 5:30pm by jules5000

MJTKNT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MJTKNT Posted 6 May 2011 , 5:20am
post #1 of 19

I have a cake coming up that I am building a PVC structure for. This is my first time using this medium as a structure, and I'm a little intimidated TBH. The biggest question that I can't wrap my mind around is how I actually get the cakes ONTO the thing. It's not like regular stacking since there's this big tube in the middle...and even different from stacking on a center dowel that has a sharpened end. Do I need to cut the circle from the board and the cake, and then slide it down over, or should it be cut from the side and slid onto? The first way seems like it'd give the cake more structural integrity, but like I said-- first time, so I don't know. I really need to just go pull out one of the frozen leftover cakes I have and try it out, but I thought I'd ask you experts to see how you do it before I go play.

18 replies
YellowBrickRd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YellowBrickRd Posted 6 May 2011 , 6:14am
post #2 of 19

I would like to use a PVC structure for a very important project. I dont mean to crash into your thread, but how do you even begin to put it together? We have a family reunion and Im doing the families homeplace in cake. I think that method would make it the most structurally sound....P.S. I watch ALOT of the cake competitions and I always see the cakes being slid down onto the pipe..circles have been cut through the board and cake. Thanks for any help you may be!!!

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 6 May 2011 , 7:30pm
post #3 of 19

Cut the hole in the cake board and cake, then slide the cake over the center support.

Cindy619 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindy619 Posted 6 May 2011 , 7:46pm
post #4 of 19