3D Lightning Mcqueen Race Car Cake

Decorating By JamieMatthews Updated 1 May 2011 , 2:58am by KraftyKimsCakes

JamieMatthews Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamieMatthews Posted 25 Apr 2011 , 8:50pm
post #1 of 6

Hi there,
Just wondering how to make a 3 D Lightning McQueen race car cake?? I am a complete novice so everything from ingredients to technique icon_surprised.gif) It's for my 2 year old so if its not *perfect I think I should side-step having to face the firing squad, lol. Thanks so much in advance!! xo

5 replies
seedrv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
seedrv Posted 25 Apr 2011 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 6

http://www.how2cakes.com/3dcar.html

Here is one version but there are others out there if you search the forums.

socalcakegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
socalcakegirl Posted 25 Apr 2011 , 11:20pm
post #3 of 6

Well I have Done a couple Tow-Mater cakes and they have all been for kids so its fun to use different candies and donuts for wheels. M&M's make really good eyes and tail lights. For your first time I would make it more fun than try to be too perfect.

nanatrucker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanatrucker Posted 25 Apr 2011 , 11:59pm
post #4 of 6

I used the 3d cruiser pan and just slanted the top of the car it came out pretty good.

pburgess68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pburgess68 Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 10:35pm
post #5 of 6

I made my first 3D cake, and that's who it was! It was SO MUCH FUN!!!!

I took 2 8" square cakes, and froze them. I removed them when I was ready to begin, left to defrost about an hour.

I then trimmed off about 1/2" off the bottom layer (it was too tall, imo), frosted in between the layers, and stuck it back in the fridge to set a bit.

I did a search on the web for "lightning mcqueen template photos" and someone had something that looked like a figure 8. That's what I used, but I freehanded it since my cake was going to be smaller.