How To Make Treasure Chest To Go On Top Of Cake?

Decorating By CAC74 Updated 12 Dec 2012 , 8:44pm by tracyaem

CAC74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CAC74 Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 3:27am
post #1 of 4

I am making a pirate theme cake for this weekend. Originally, I planned on buying a small toy treasure chest, but my luck, I haven't been able to find one. Any ideas on how to make a realistic treasure chest? I have done some fondant molding, but not a lot. I'm not so worried about making the box portion, I'm more worried about the lid and the realistic features. Any help would be much appreciated!!

3 replies
Kread Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kread Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 3:59am
post #2 of 4

I'm pretty new at finest molding, and I just made one! I haven't posted it, but pm me your email, and I'll send a pic. I made the box, then used gold candy coins to prop lid open. Made a pearl necklace with sugar pearls on one side. I secured the lid with tooth picks in the back, but the coins kept it open. I painted it with brown gel food color mixed with vodka to give it a wood grain. It was fairly easy to doicon_wink.gif

HilmirFreyr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HilmirFreyr Posted 12 Dec 2012 , 6:52pm
post #3 of 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kread 

I'm pretty new at finest molding, and I just made one! I haven't posted it, but pm me your email, and I'll send a pic. I made the box, then used gold candy coins to prop lid open. Made a pearl necklace with sugar pearls on one side. I secured the lid with tooth picks in the back, but the coins kept it open. I painted it with brown gel food color mixed with vodka to give it a wood grain. It was fairly easy to doicon_wink.gif

Hi, any chance you could send me a photo of your cake as I need to make this for the weekend :)

tracyaem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracyaem Posted 12 Dec 2012 , 8:44pm
post #4 of 4