Carpel Tunnel

Decorating By SweetCakesbyAmy Updated 18 May 2011 , 8:15pm by Brevity

SweetCakesbyAmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 3:00pm
post #1 of 10

Hi so I have been doing cakes for my kids for about 10 years now. The last 2 years I have actually started doing them for actual clients and have enjoyed it so much im considering a full time job change.

The problem I am having is when I was younger I fell and developed carpel tunnel in my wrist. I have usually not over exerted myself so I havent really inflamed them much. The last two cakes I did made my wrists feel like they were in fire-from kneading the fondant to piping the royal icing.

Does anyone have and ideas on how to address this issue...Im not really fond of even thinking about the surgery to fix carpel tunnel as I hear more bad than good from it.

Im really nervous to switch career paths at 30 years old and would just love some advice!

Thanks!

9 replies
sugardugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugardugar Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 5:23pm
post #2 of 10

Hey there,

During pregnancy I developed carpel tunnel in my wrists and it does return periodically ever since (she is now 3). I wear wrist bracers to bed every night to help avoid it coming back as per my doctor's advice.

HTH!

Edit: I did start making my own fondant for a while, though, and it did come back. Sadly, I have to buy all of my fondant. Even with my mixer doing most of the work, making it isn't an option!

Tide89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tide89 Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 5:40pm
post #3 of 10

I thought I was getting carpal tunnel also and didn't want to have surgery. I went to my Chiropractor to have him work on my neck and I asked him to check it out to see if he could help. He did some muscle work on my shoulder and upper back and my hand and wrist hasn't hurt me since!!!! I've done several cakes since and no pain! It might be worth it just to have a chiropractor check it out......