Getting Started In The Cake Business.

Business By ShayJazz Updated 6 Apr 2011 , 1:40am by ShayJazz

ShayJazz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShayJazz Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 6:31pm
post #1 of 9

I would like to offer my cupcakes and cakes for sale. How do I get started? Do I need a FIN? I'm currently a dance instructor and I am thinking about doing this to supplement my income.
Thanks for any advice. I've gotten good feedback from everyone who has tried my cakes.

8 replies
KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 6:42pm
post #2 of 9

You need to contact your city for all the legalities.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 7:13pm
post #3 of 9

As mentioned above you need to contact your local health dept to find out what the legatlities are. Some states allow home bakeries, others you can rent a commercial kitchen, and others you need to have a fully seperate kitchen that you do not share. And cities/towns can have more strict regulations than your state.
I am not sure where your location is so it's hard to tell you what you need to do.

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 12:00am
post #4 of 9

New York State varies by county, so you would need to contact your local health dept and ask if home bakeries are permitted (ask if there is a cottage food law). If not, you could rent a commercial space (which sucks IMO). Or, risk getting in trouble by the health dept for selling cakes from home icon_surprised.gif

ShayJazz Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 12:44am
post #5 of 9

Thanks everyone! I appreciate the help! I live in NY State so i'll check and post the results.

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 2:34pm
post #6 of 9