How To Paint A Design On Fondant If U Aren't A Good Artist?

Decorating By usmdesigner Updated 1 Apr 2011 , 5:40pm by luddroth

usmdesigner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
usmdesigner Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 12:45pm
post #1 of 13

I'm wanting to paint the starbucks logo on some fondant but know that I'm not a good artist at all. (the black and white portion of the girl inside the green circle)

Can anyone give suggestions of how I would do be able to do this without buying one of those printers that do the edible paper?

I thought of printing out the logo and then trying to "trace" out lines with a pointed shaper tool, but my paper is really thick. I also thought about getting some parchment paper and trace to it and then try that same idea with the pointed tool, but I'm not sure if that will work either.

Any suggestions?

12 replies
pbhobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbhobby Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 12:51pm
post #2 of 13

I've used parchment paper with some luck before but with a design that detailed it's not easy. I'm curious to see what other will suggest.

online_annie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
online_annie Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 12:55pm
post #3 of 13

I think a lot of people use an edible image. You can take a copy of the logo and have one printed up. They work great on fondant as well as buttercream. It might be worth your while to check it out. They can print multiple images so you can try it on a scrap piece of fondant before using it on the real deal. That's my suggestion. Let's us know how it turns out!

mmmmmmmmcake1954 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmmmmmmmcake1954 Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 1:19pm
post #4 of 13