Need Help On A Communion Cake

Decorating By nadia0411 Updated 1 Apr 2011 , 12:06pm by nadia0411

nadia0411 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nadia0411 Posted 15 Mar 2011 , 9:00am
post #1 of 11

Hi all,
Attached please find a pic.
This is my first time with everything in this cake.I have already determined many aspects. Just sharing out loud, any comments/suggestions please let me know.

1 for book, i will stack 2 13x9 sheet cakes, carve v shaped tapered sides for pages, cover in ganache and then fondant, making curved lines with a pizza cutter on top and bottom of open book and straight lines on both sides of the open book. Will brush with silver.gold dust,

Should i mix the dust with something (no alcohol) or just brush it directly?

Will roll another fondant piece to lay on top to resemble the open page with corner a little bit turned.

2. For chalice, i plan to use gumpaste/fondant mixture to set on a bowl, make stand seperately probably supported by a dowel and the let them dry, stick them tog with RI and brush with lustre dust, again shall i mix with something or do it directly?

3. Wheat and writing i plan to do with RI and the paint with ivory and golden color respectively, is that ok?

4. Grapes should be easy but how to achieve this color, purple with black?

5. rosary beads, i plan to make small gumpaste ball, make them beads by poking a needle and let them dry, will string them using dental floss. Question is how to achieve that falling effect with the golden as shown in the picture with the rim of the chalice? how to achieve that?

The client is quite specific and i want it to turn out perfect, please share your thoughts.ideas. I have mailed the creator of this cake also.

here is the link of the cake also
http://www.flickr.com/photos/cakeladycakes/3806526304/

Regards
TIA
Nadia

10 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 20 Mar 2011 , 8:05pm
post #2 of 11