Hhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeelllllllllppppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Baking By LynnzieJean Updated 2 May 2011 , 5:23pm by sweetthang1

LynnzieJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LynnzieJean Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 4:29am
post #1 of 20

so i'm an amateur baker, its my passion. I bake cakes for friends here and there. So what I am wondering is i just got asked to make a 500 cupcake wedding with a little cutting cake. How much would you charge for it?

19 replies
Mac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mac Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 4:48am
post #2 of 20

For cupcakes, I charge $2.25 to $2.50 per cupcake and at least $45 for a 2 layer 6" cake

lilmissbakesalot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilmissbakesalot Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 4:52am
post #3 of 20

Tough to say. Where are you located? Will the reception be in a hall? I only ask because some venues can be sticklers for making sure that any food that comes in comes from a licensed kitchen. Some states have cottage food laws and some do license home kitchens, but many do not so that would be where I'd start. It might not be legal for you to provide cakes for sale from your home kitchen. Hopefully that won't be an issue, but getting licensed takes time so I'd look into that immediately.

Where you are also can have a bearing on what you can charge. What will the cupcakes have for decoration? Ask yourself too if you have the capacity to make and store 500 cupcakes. You can't make them too far ahead since they will dry out, so you will have to make them close to the event date, and 500 cupcakes is just barely under 42 dozen. 2 dozen will fit in a 19x14" box... that's 21 rather large boxes. Will that fit in your vehicle?

Not to sound like a debbie downer, but these are things you don't think about when you are all high on the thought of your first order... I know I didn't think about it in the beginning... but after 4.5 years of doing this I'm all hardened... LOL.

icon_biggrin.gif