Self Taught?

Decorating By SophisticatedSweets Updated 6 Mar 2011 , 7:41pm by carmijok

SophisticatedSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SophisticatedSweets Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 3:03am
post #1 of 16

I have never taken any formal/Wilton classes or else wise in terms of cake decorating. While friends, families and clients act all gobsmacked by my cakes I come on here, browse through galleries and think about how much I DON'T know about cakes and/or decorating. I am quite OCD and have a tendency to begin randomly sobbing when creating cakes because I just don't have the know how or don't know how to fix what I am doing wrong. I am hoping to attend the upcoming Wilton classes at our local Hobby Lobby...but do you all have any other suggestions? Any books or DVDs you can refer me to? I recently resigned from my FT job and have been laying out the plans for a bakery/deli but just don't feel like my skills in terms of customized cakes are up to par. I have the imagination just not the hard skills. :p

Thanks you for your help!

15 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 5:48am
post #2 of 16

I've been doing cakes for over 30 years and I've never taken a class. "Back in my day ......!" icon_rolleyes.gif , we had no choice. You bought a wilton book and taught yourself and that was the ONLY way you learned how to do a cake unless you had a friend who was willing to share secrets.

That said, when I found CC, I will say that I've learned more on here than I did in 25 years of hands-on doing it.

So the good news is you've come to the right place.

Psst! I have a daughter with OCD tendencies so I understand a bit about that .... but cake is the one place you should try to let go. While we put our heart and soul into each and every one, at the end of the day "its just cake". Its suppose to be for our fun and enjoyment! thumbs_up.gif

sebrina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sebrina Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 6:25am
post #3 of 16