Is Buttercream Back?

Decorating By rocky5777 Updated 4 Mar 2011 , 6:02pm by KJ62798

rocky5777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rocky5777 Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:09am
post #1 of 21

I have been decorating cakes for quite a few years now. And recently I have noticed a comeback in buttercream cakes. I was just wondering if anyone else has noticed customers ordering buttercream cakes instead of fondant? I have a few wedding cakes coming up this season and all of them do not want fondant cakes. What are your thoughts?

20 replies
bostonterrierlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostonterrierlady Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:14am
post #2 of 21

I hope so.

bostonterrierlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostonterrierlady Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:15am
post #3 of 21

I hope so.

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:43am
post #4 of 21

Agree, I actually can't actually seem to sell a fondant wedding cake. All my brides want buttercream. Of course, I make the best SMBC in the universe (icon_biggrin.gif) so who could blame them! icon_razz.gif

Seriously though, my last 6 consultations I've had brides hand me pictures of fondant cakes and ask if they can be made in buttercream, and instead of fondant accents or detail they want piping.

Jen

JohnnyCakes1966 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JohnnyCakes1966 Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:50am
post #5 of 21

Did it ever go away? icon_confused.gif Almost all of my cakes are - and have been - buttercream.

sweetmonkeycheese Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetmonkeycheese Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:20pm
post #6 of 21

there is nothing appetizing about fondant, but when you see buttercream, it makes you want to eat cake

Chasey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chasey Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 6:27pm
post #7 of 21

It's most likely a regional thing!

I would love to see the art of buttercream back. Bring on the piping skills! And serve me some all buttercream wedding cake. Yum!