Moldable Whaaa?

Decorating By cakebeard Updated 25 Feb 2011 , 9:40pm by imagenthatnj

cakebeard Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebeard Posted 24 Feb 2011 , 3:01pm
post #1 of 9

I'm an artist, but new to this material so I need some help with the techniques pro's use. I've messed around with fondant, found it very cool and easy to use. I have 3 cakes under my veterans belt.

My question to you folks is: I have a project i'm going to tackle this week. It's going to be a free standing structure that stands about 18'' tall with a 4'' wide. This object is going to be half of my cake.

I plan on making the tall structure out of rice krispy treats (a friend told me "thats what cake boss uses".

Has anyone used this material in the past? What can I expect when I go to apply the fondant? Is it just as easy as throwing the stuff on a cake? Should I cover the Rice K treats with icing first?

Also, how strong is moldable choclate? Does it get pretty stiff when it hardens? I'm thinking about using this for the first time.

Any help would be much appreciated!

8 replies
Chala86 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chala86 Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 10:24am
post #2 of 9

I've never used RKT but modelling chocolate - that I've played with a few times now and it does get pretty stiff when it hardens. I'm sure someone will be along to give you some better info than me as I'm relatively new to all of this.

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 9