Need Help With Rolling Fondant

Decorating By dvessels Updated 15 Feb 2011 , 5:24am by sugardugar

dvessels Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dvessels Posted 13 Feb 2011 , 3:25pm
post #1 of 8

Hello everyone, Yesterday I covered a square cake with fondant. The cake was about 3 " tall and 8" wide, so it wasn't terribly large. My fondant was a great consistency; not too sticky, smooth and elastic. The tutorials make it look so easy to roll out the fondant. My husband had to roll it for me; I didn't have the strength! Now, he is strong, but it took him a great amount of strength to get it rolled out large enough and even then it was really took thick although it ended up all right on the cake. I can't imagine having to roll out a large enough piece for a large cake! Oh, and yes, I do have the large roller and mat from wilton. I know the professionals use those big sheet rollers; wow, how I wished I had one available yesterday! I am just a hobbyist, but people are beginning to ask me to make cakes for them; help! icon_eek.gif

7 replies
ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 13 Feb 2011 , 3:43pm
post #2 of 8

I usually knead mine a good bit to loosen it up and make it more elastic before I try to roll it out. If you just took it straight from the package and started rolling, I imagine it would have been really stiff and pretty difficult to work with.

SweetSouthernBakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSouthernBakery Posted 13 Feb 2011 , 4:40pm
post #3 of 8

The first few cakes I made (after the one I made in class) I forgot to roll out the fondant and it was really hard and took forever to do but i as ramie7224 said if you knead it really well it will be much easier to work with. Some people even put theirs in the microwave for a few seconds to help warm it up and easier to work with. HTH

kearniesue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kearniesue Posted 13 Feb 2011 , 5:03pm
post #4 of 8