My Scratch Cakes Aren't So Good...

Decorating By PeggyH Updated 18 Jun 2012 , 12:12am by dandymom

PeggyH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PeggyH Posted 29 Jan 2011 , 1:13am
post #1 of 61

So I'm trying to get started in the cake business and have this idea that everything I sell should be made from scratch, but my scratch cakes tend to turn out pretty bad. It seems I always do something wrong, or misinterpret a direction but the end result is always the same...my cakes stink!! No amount of pre planning seems to help...so what I really want to know is, is it wrong to just make boxed cakes?? Or do I need to throw in the towel now?? Do people expect a scratch cake??

I just don't know and it's causing me a lot of frustration and the huge feeling of inadequacy...

60 replies
sebrina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sebrina Posted 29 Jan 2011 , 1:28am
post #2 of 61

I'm not a pro but I think a good rule of thumb is - what they don't know, won't hurt 'em! Besides I know for a fact that some bakery cakes are from a mix!

All4Show Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
All4Show Posted 29 Jan 2011 , 1:53am
post #3 of 61

Check out Macsmom's thread "Help, Gourmet Flavors" under the Cake Ideas forum. She uses the WASC recipe (a doctored recipe) and does a ton of variations. You'll love the inspriation, but it will take forever to read through. So many possibilites.

PeggyH Posted 29 Jan 2011 , 2:55am
post #4 of 61

Sebrina - unfortunately it's hard for ME to stick to the motto...I know it's from a box, but I also know that I need to get over that. It kinda falls under that "I see/know all my imperfections", so this is something I am working on but I just needed to know that I'm not the only one icon_smile.gif

All4Show - I checked out the thread and it's awesome, thanks so much for the tip. One newbie questions though, what the heck does "WASC" mean???

All4Show Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
All4Show Posted 29 Jan 2011 , 3:00am
post #5 of 61