Square Wedding Cake Question

Decorating By SummerSweets Updated 31 Jan 2011 , 2:00pm by SummerSweets

SummerSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SummerSweets Posted 28 Jan 2011 , 2:41pm
post #1 of 10

My brother and his wife have decided to renew their vows next year. They have decided they want a 3 tier square wedding cake with a fountain under it and columns betweed the tiers. I was looking online and read that the bottom tier has to be at least 14 in. for a round cake but I'm having trouble finding directions for a square cake. They will also want a grooms cake like this one, but with coke cans.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixchic/3055734527/

Any idea on how many servings that grooms cake is? Will the cans sink into the cake? What would be the best way to do that?

I'm going to try to work up a price this weekend. And if that's still what they want then I'm going to go ahead and start practicing with the fountain and columns since I've never done one like that before. I have a Hobby Lobby around here that I was going to get the fountain at. Would it be good to get the Wilton support system there too? Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Sorry this is so long.

TIA!

9 replies
FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 28 Jan 2011 , 5:16pm
post #2 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SummerSweets

My brother and his wife have decided to renew their vows next year. They have decided they want a 3 tier square wedding cake with a fountain under it and columns betweed the tiers. I was looking online and read that the bottom tier has to be at least 14 in. for a round cake but I'm having trouble finding directions for a square cake. They will also want a grooms cake like this one, but with coke cans.

Any idea on how many servings that grooms cake is? Will the cans sink into the cake? What would be the best way to do that?