Cakes For Stacking And Carving

Decorating By mississippisweets Updated 18 Jan 2011 , 12:38pm by JanH

mississippisweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mississippisweets Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 13

I'm a cupcake baker...but there is a demand for cakes, and since money talks, I'm now doing cakes. I've searched for dense cake recipes and found lots of options. However, most of the options are cake mix based recipes. I have no problem with this...my go to chocolate cake is the Darn Good Chocolate Cake from The Cake Mix Doctor.

Does anyone ever get any flack for using a cake mix? I mean, all of the same things that you would make a cake from scratch with are IN a cake mix, and I've tried explaining this to people...but people think if you are selling cakes that you should be making cakes from scratch (at least in my little small town). The funny thing is, not a single person would know that the chocolate cupcake I make is from a cake mix.

12 replies
silverdragon997 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
silverdragon997 Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 7:36pm
post #2 of 13

I've never had anyone ask me if I use a mix or bake from scratch (I do both, it just depends on what I'm making).

I'd say, if they don't ask, then it doesn't matter. If someone DOES ask, I'd tell them I use a cake mix as a starting point and then add my stuff to it. Lots of big name bakeries start off with those 50lb bags of "just add water" cake mix.

I've discovered that, with the exception of a couple of recipes, I get the most compliments on cakes that started with a mix. I'm fine with that, because the scratch recipes I use are way more work!

DebbyJG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebbyJG Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 7:54pm
post #3 of 13

I don't think it matters as long as they don't ask and you don't have a no-mix policy. But as far "all the same things are in a mix that are in a scratch cake"...no, not really.