I Am Needing Some Help Making A Bc Rose...

Decorating By ConfectionsCC Updated 9 Jan 2011 , 4:04am by NanaSandy

ConfectionsCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConfectionsCC Posted 8 Jan 2011 , 1:56am
post #1 of 19

Getting a little frustraded...googled, cc'd how to's...but I am not sure if its the consistency of my BC or what, but getting started on the BC rose is stumping me. It keeps falling over and not looking, how should i say, clean? any advice? I would be happy to video tape real quick to show you what I am dealing with...I am practicing with a chocolate BC I found here on CC. Please, anyone link me to a great video, or step by step pictures, come to my house and hold my hand lol! I am getting aggravated with a "simple BC rose" YEA real simple!

18 replies
ConfectionsCC Posted 8 Jan 2011 , 2:03am
post #2 of 19

Maybe its just because its my first attempt. Seconds after posting this I made a semi-decent looking one! But tried it repeat it, nope, messed it up again lol!! ugh still, any tips at all would be great. I do not feel I can even call myself a decorator without knowing how to do this rose...EVERYONE can do a rose...right?

Ambar2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ambar2 Posted 8 Jan 2011 , 2:09am
post #3 of 19

Nope, I have trouble with BC roses as well, I found this great video on youtube and its helped me alot

Cookie4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cookie4 Posted 8 Jan 2011 , 2:09am
post #4 of 19

Here's the way I teach students to make the rose.

1. Use a stiff buttercream (that means your small metal spatula should stand up in the icing without falling over when you jiggle the bowl/container)

2. Use tip #12 and make a Hershey Kiss (that means make a fat base and not too tall or your rose will fall over - usually 1 1/2 times the opening of the #104 tip)