Transporting Tiered Cake

Decorating By NanaSandy Updated 12 Dec 2010 , 5:54pm by cakegirl1973

NanaSandy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NanaSandy Posted 11 Dec 2010 , 9:52pm
post #1 of 9

I have a question for my CC friends. When you have a 3 tiered cake, let's say a 10".8" and a 5"....do you stack and then transport? Or do you stack it at the location? I am just curious, as I am new to stacking cakes, and have one to do this weekend. It will be fondant covered and the border is going to be a fondant ribbon.
Thank you in advance for your help!

8 replies
BethLS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BethLS Posted 11 Dec 2010 , 10:17pm
post #2 of 9

A cake this "small" can certainly be transported stacked. However, it will need a good support system in place. Many here swear by the SPS system by Bakerycrafts. Others, include wooden dowel rods, hollow plastic dowels by Wilton, some even like bubble-tea straws.

You will also need to place it on a very level surface in the delivery vehicle, on top of non-slip material.

Also, I'd recommened changing the top tier from a 5" to a 6" to be more proportionate. icon_smile.gif

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 11 Dec 2010 , 10:52pm
post #3 of 9