Cupcakes For Pre-Schoolers

Baking By mommyjones Updated 10 Dec 2010 , 1:42am by weirkd

mommyjones Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyjones Posted 10 Dec 2010 , 1:07am
post #1 of 5

Okay my youngest is in pre-k and I live to bake. The teacher asked me if I wanted to bring in cupcakes for the kids to decorate. What should I bring in for them to use? I was thinking of making my own buttercream and bring it in instead of the store bought stuff. I am so excited to do this with the kids but just don't know how to go about finding the right stuff as well what would be a good recipe for them (cake and buttercream) I would really greatful. Thanks!

4 replies
kimmisue2009 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimmisue2009 Posted 10 Dec 2010 , 1:26am
post #2 of 5

I am just a sometime hobby baker but I am a mom of four so feel pretty confident in that part. This is one of the most popular things you can do with kids. I always made sure I had several colors of icing as well as lots of different sprinkles, etc. Tons of plastic knives and plates. I also covered the tables with those cheap, colorful tablecloths. That way, nice you're done you can just wad all the mess up and throw it away. I use doctored cake mixes and buttercream made with butter, powdered sugar and vanilla. Like I said, not a pro baker, but a pro mom! Have fun!!!

KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 10 Dec 2010 , 1:26am
post #3 of 5

I did this before with young children, it is great fun! And messy! icon_smile.gif First, buy some of those disposable icing bags. Since you have to wash your real bags by hand, I just don't feel I can get mine clean enough after all those little germy preschool hands have touched them....lol! icon_lol.gif Disposable are much easier when it comes to clean up.