Ufc Cage Help!

Decorating By DeezTreatz Updated 2 Dec 2010 , 6:42pm by Lelka

DeezTreatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeezTreatz Posted 27 Nov 2010 , 3:25am
post #1 of 12

Hey guys!

I have a order for a ufc cake - and I am going to make the ring in the octagon - I wanted to make the fence look very real - but edible.

I have seen a lot on here - but am very scared to make a cage out of royal icing - and wonder how it sticks in the cake and stays sturdy?
(I have never used royal icing before) lol

Any help would be soooo wonderful!

TIA! icon_smile.gif

11 replies
cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 27 Nov 2010 , 3:49am
post #2 of 12

Have you worked with Sugar Veil before? You wouldn't have to worry so much about it breaking, but it might look more like a net.

Coral3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Coral3 Posted 27 Nov 2010 , 5:19am
post #3 of 12

Unbreakable gel? (or is that the same as Sugar Veil?)

DeezTreatz Posted 27 Nov 2010 , 7:23pm
post #4 of 12

No I have never worked with sugar veil before icon_sad.gif

snazzygem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snazzygem Posted 28 Nov 2010 , 6:45pm
post #5 of 12

I just finished a UFC cake last week (in my photos). I didn't do the complete octagon though. My cages are royal icing and the poles are Oreo fun sticks. To make them all stand and stick together I inserted lollipop sticks into the cake and then the Oreo sticks went over those. Then I just used the gray royal icing to "glue" everything together. It was extremely sturdy!!!

In my original plan, I was going to the full cage, but was off on my measurements for the cage. I didn't account for the the size of the poles so there was no way the cage panels would fit together perfectly. So my advice is...be very precise with your measurements and make tons of extra panels!

Kate icon_smile.gif

DeezTreatz Posted 29 Nov 2010 , 11:45pm
post #6 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snazzygem