Lemon Buttermilk Cake By Dede Wilson

Baking By AnnieCahill Updated 21 Nov 2010 , 9:59am by AnnieCahill

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 1:10am
post #1 of 13

Has anyone ever made this and refrigerated it successfully?

I'm making this but the recipe says don't refrigerate or it will dry out. I am icing with IMBC and it will need to be refrigerated for at least two days (assembling, icing on Thursday for Saturday).

I'm really worried about this drying out. I was thinking of doing a wash with a sugar syrup. I've never done it before though so I'm worried about overdoing it.

I just wanted to see if you guys had any advice.

Thanks,
AC

12 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 1:28am
post #2 of 13

Hi, i haven,t made that one, but have made some of her cakes. If the instructions say not to refrigerate, then i would not. Leah_s on this site. says refrigerating a cake makes it dry out. I believe what she says. I would freeze it , before i would refrigerate it. hth I made a lemon cake this past week end. not her recipe. I also used smbc. I torted, filled, and crumb coated with the smbc. i froze it in a box sealed really good. Then iced it couple days later. and took to the party.

AnnieCahill Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 11:02am
post #3 of 13

Ok so you think it's ok to freeze it iced in IMBC? I've never frozen a decorated cake before. I'm putting silver dragees on it-do you think they will fall off if I freeze it?

ctirella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ctirella Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 12:41pm
post #4 of 13

is this cake recipe on cake central recipes?

ctirella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ctirella Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 12:42pm
post #5 of 13

is this cake recipe on cake central recipes?

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 1:33pm
post #6 of 13

I know a big fancy phrase about this. icon_biggrin.gif