Family Issues-Need Advice Quick!!

Lounge By KittyPTerror Updated 22 Nov 2010 , 3:12pm by TexasSugar

KittyPTerror Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KittyPTerror Posted 19 Nov 2010 , 8:24pm
post #1 of 22

So my dad's brother is fairly estranged from my family, but I've always kind of been the black sheep, too, so he and I have developed a small on-line friendship the past few months. I have met him probably less than 10 times in my life, but I like him and want to be closer. I haven't seen him in over 5 years. He emailed me the other day saying that he was planning on taking a trip to visit my state (he lives about 8 hours away) and when was I free? I told him that my husband and I are going out of town for Thanksgiving and then when we come back, I have finals that start almost immediately (I am a law student), so if he was coming next week, it would probably not work out. Well, apparently he meant they were thinking of coming THIS weekend (Sunday), and he called me out of the blue and asked me if he, his teenage son, his 20-year-old daughter and her baby could stay with me. My husband has never met these people and we live in a 1-bedroom duplex. I told Uncle that I thought they would be uncomfortable because we only have two small couches and not much space. He said that they "don't mind" sleeping on the floor or that my apartment is dirty. I told him again I just didn't think they'd be comfortable, but he insisted that they would be. He had called me from his job and had to get off the phone quickly and said that he would call later.