Flavor & Design Suggestions For Wedding Samples??

Baking By KsCakes09 Updated 14 Nov 2010 , 7:54pm by KsCakes09

KsCakes09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KsCakes09 Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 2:13pm
post #1 of 19

I have someone requesting cupcake samples for an upcoming summer wedding. She wants 24 mixed variety (she didn't specify what she wants).....How should I go about the flavors? Obviously I'm not going to make 24 different flavors. I'm pretty new to flavorings since most of my customers so far have asked for pretty basic flavors (van, choc, red velvet, marble). How many different flavors should I offer?? How about the icing flavors as well? She also wants a couple designed w/ the monogram of the couples last name (I thought of doing an impression on a fondant deco. How many different designs should I offer? Just trying to make it cost effective as well as attractive. Thanks.

18 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 4:02pm
post #2 of 19

Is this free or are you charging her for the samples?

Freebie = 3 basic flavors and no decorating. This is just for her to get an idea of your baking, after all.

KsCakes09 Posted 12 Nov 2010 , 2:25pm
post #3 of 19

I was planning on charging her. She wants 24 cupcakes...its not like a traditional cake testing. I was also planning on making a couple w/ decorations on them for her to get an idea of design too.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 Nov 2010 , 2:29pm
post #4 of 19

Typically, each flavor would be a minimum of 24 cupcakes in a normal order.
Since this is a wedding cake sample for a bride then I would do one flavor for every 24 cupcakes.
Unless you're a store or if you regularly produce cake and keep sample cuppies in the freezer. But fresh baked? Uno is the Maxo.

If I was in a real good mood I might split a batch and do two different flavors but I haven't been in a real good cake mood in eons.