Emulsions Vs. Extracts

Decorating By Hammonds Updated 10 Nov 2010 , 2:01pm by Hammonds

Hammonds Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hammonds Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 7:19pm
post #1 of 11

Just curious about emulsions... I have never used them before. Do you use them exactly like you use extracts? Are they better. I noticed that Hobby Lobby has them now. Do you use them in your recipes in place of the extract? Which flavor is the best and how do you use them in your recipes? I saw that you can purchase Almond. Would this be better in the WASC and in buttercream? Has anyon e used the Princess flavor in buttercream? Thanks!

10 replies
daltonam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daltonam Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 11

from their site...

Quote:
Quote:

What is a baking "emulsion"?
Emulsions are water-based, alcohol-free alternatives to extracts. Instead of using alcohol, the flavor is micro encapsulated in natural stabilizers and suspended in water. The encapsulation enables the flavor to not lose its integrity when exposed to high heat.
Which means....Use baking emulsions instead of extracts with better results!

When it comes to flavoring, professional bakers almost exclusively use emulsions over alcohol-based extracts.
Emulsions have a more potent, robust flavor.
Won't "bake-out" when exposed to heat
Alcohol free
Gluten Free

Quote:
Quote:

Princess Cake and Cookie baking emulsion has a light, nutty taste accented with undertones of citrus and rich vanilla. Use it wherever you want to impart a creamy flavor. Delicious as a flavoring for butter cream frosting.
Flavor combination: Vanilla + Almond + Lemon

I've never used the Princess, I have used the Butter-Vanilla, Buttery Sweet Dough & the Coconut. I just use as it says on the bottle, when baking use as your recipe directs. When not baking or cooking (as in buttercream) use slightly less then directed.

Hammonds Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 7:46pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks Daltonam for your reply. I will try it out!