Has Anyone Felt This Way?

Decorating By Christina1207 Updated 7 Nov 2010 , 2:03pm by springlakecake

Christina1207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Christina1207 Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 20

I am fairly new to the whole cake decorating, and right about now I doubt my cakes are even good enough to continue. It could be that I am sick which is bringing on these feelings. But I just don't see how it's even worth spending the money on the tools, fondant and other things. It's not like I have people coming to me to make a cake for them. Oh well just wondering if anyone else has been down in the dumps when first starting out?

19 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 4:19pm
post #2 of 20

icon_biggrin.gif Great observation Christina. I've been doing this for decades and you really put your finger on the pulse of home caking. And I do have people coming to me to do cakes. I turned down one wedding and cake for 'several receptions' this week.

But I did make a cake that looks like a big candy corn for my kid's b-day.

But you got it!. So many people want to encourage bakers to 'go into business'. That line of thinking helped put Mom & Pop bakeries out of business. Wilton saw the potential market and baled on commercial bakers and the rest is history. Then big box store turned up the heat by churning out product like snowflakes in January.

Unless one can satisfy their local regulations it is not worth it to try & be a small gourmet one person business. I think you need to have a lunch counter or a full blown dessert-y type restaurant in order to maintain your "cake habit".

But mind, you've become a business woman and there's much less time or room in your brain for creativity. So you can always make cakes for family and 'just because' and that's where a lot of us are at. Also to take on a challenge and see if we can do a certain design.