Cracks In Gumpaste Figures

Decorating By Strazle Updated 20 Jan 2007 , 10:32pm by nancys_world

Strazle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Strazle Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 6:23pm
post #1 of 9

I plan on taking the Wilton course next month. Until then, I thought I would try on my own to make a teddy bear figure. Well, as I have no prior experience, I just winged it. My teddy bear looks like its 90 years old. It has cracks and wrinkles everywhere. I used 50/50 gumpaste and fondant. How do I prevent this? Thank you in advance for your advice. This site is GREAT!!!

8 replies
torki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
torki Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 9:14pm
post #2 of 9

It is a cool site.....it sounds like your letting your paste dry out....try working with smaller pieces at a time....keeping your unused pieces covered... I use a wet sponge in a zip lock bag to cover the pieces I'm not working with. You may need to work a bit faster or change your mix to 80/20 fondant/gumpaste this will give you a longer drying time.....but play around with the mix and you will find what works best for you.... have fun and keep playing icon_smile.gif

JaneK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaneK Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 9:21pm
post #3 of 9

You might try using fondant around a pound or just short of that and around 2 tsp of Gum-Tex...this is a great mix for modeling/animals etc..

One of the best tips I have when modeling is one I got from Boonenati ..she uses saran wrap to support pieces and keep them in shape. It is really easy to remove and it supports the pieces really well when you scrunch it up. I used that to support my polars bears when they were drying and my shoe too...works great!

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 9:31pm
post #4 of 9

I like using gumpaste with fondant in a 50/50 ratio. It is soft enough to not develop lines or cracks but it has the faster drying and strength of gumpaste.

patton78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile