Gumpaste Problems Please Help!!

Decorating By Sarah-Beth Updated 26 Oct 2010 , 3:07am by BlakesCakes

Sarah-Beth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sarah-Beth Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 2:11am
post #1 of 6

Ok I am new to the hole cake thing and trying to cake gumpaste flowers for the first time I made my own gumpaste and I am sooooo frustrated at this point. I just can't get the gum paste smooth no matter what I do it has all these little seems that look like little cracks in it. I am keeping the extra under a glass so it doesn't dry out but it seem like the stuff I am working with dry out before I can work with it? What am I doing wrong please help

5 replies
kearniesue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kearniesue Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 2:18am
post #2 of 6

Hi Sarah,

It might be a little too dry. Try adding a little shortening to your hands and knead it a little. HTH.

Karen

dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 2:27am
post #3 of 6

You can also try adding a bit of fondant to the gumpaste. Did you make it with gumtex or tylose?. Tylose gives you a bit more working time and it does not crack as fast.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 2:40am
post #4 of 6

Can you , please post your recipe. I think that will help us a lot to help you . tia

Sarah-Beth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sarah-Beth Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 2:52am
post #5 of 6

I used the one I got off of here! I heard it was suppose to be good I didn't change a thing just as it says!! I will try crisco!!! Thank for the help

Gumpaste
Ingredients
4 Large Egg Whites
1 2 lb. bag 10x powdered sugar
12 Level teaspoons Tylose (Available in our online store)
4 Teaspoons shortening (Crisco)
Instructions
1. Place the egg whites in a Kitchen Aid mixer bowl fitted with the flat paddle.
2. Turn the mixer on high speed for 10 seconds to break up the egg whites.
3. Reserve 1 cup of the powdered sugar and set aside.