Accidentally Got Mark Of Food Color On White Fondant...

Decorating By dandygrl34 Updated 11 Nov 2010 , 4:14pm by jammjenks

dandygrl34 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandygrl34 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 15

This is my first attempt at using Fondant andI am making an Xbox cake for my son's 18th birthday. Everything was going great but then I dropped an accent piece that had green food color onto the controller leaving a green smudge right in the middle. Is there any way to "fix" this?? I cannot cover it up really and the whole thing is basically finished so I don't really want to start over. Thanks for any tips or hints...I am new to this site and it is addicting!

14 replies
Herekittykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Herekittykitty Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 8:37pm
post #2 of 15

First make sure the spot is dry, if not - like with a stain on clothes, LIGHTLY blot to remove excess color.

I would probably then try to lightly scrape it off and then using a teeny tiny bit of water "Blend" the fondant as smooth as I could again. Might leave a mar but that is possibly preferable to a green spot?

Not the best suggestion but all I can come up with. HTH.

cakesbyamber Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyamber Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 8:47pm
post #3 of 15

This has happened to me many times. I use vodka to remove food coloring...It has worked miracles! Just dip your paintbrush in the vodka and swirl it around over the mark and it will begin to disappear. Use a towel to wipe off excess. It probably works best when the mark is still wet though.

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 11:50pm
post #4 of 15

I have had success with vodka, too. I was able to remove smudges with a cotton swab moistened with vodka (can use any clear extract if you don't have vodka) and just swirl the color off.

sugarshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarshack Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 12:51am
post #5 of 15