How Do I Make A Structured Cake? (Using Pvc)

Decorating By cloetzu Updated 18 Oct 2010 , 3:00pm by emrldsky

cloetzu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cloetzu Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 12:08pm
post #1 of 24

I'd like to try making a structured cake - i.e. something with height that needs an internal structure of wood and or PVC piping etc. I've never done it before and can't seem to find any information on doing it. Wondering if any one has any pictures showing how or knows of any videos anywhere?

I'm interested to find out where supplies usually come from, how they are prepared (washed prep'd etc) and then assembled. When I see cakes done on TV I don't usually see them doing anything to those pieces nore them adding anything 'between' the cake or cereal treats and the wood or pipe??? wouldn't you need to put something ?

I've read that many prefer modeling chocolate to cover the final structure over fondant/gumpaste... wondering why? and also where to get modeling chocolate? is it the same as chocolate wafers?

any and all information would be greatly appreciated!!

23 replies
deMuralist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deMuralist Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 12:20pm
post #2 of 24

I can't help with all the questions, but I can tell you that I make my modeling chocolate. Here is a link to a youtube of a wonderful artist making it and using it, she includes the recipe. Very easy to work with, although I would not personally try to cover a cake with it.

cloetzu Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 3:17pm
post #3 of 24

hmmm.. there is no link? would love to see it! icon_wink.gif

deMuralist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deMuralist Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 3:24pm
post #4 of 24

oops...

Stephy42088 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stephy42088 Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 3:30pm
post #5 of 24