Hello Kitty Cake For My Daughter's Party This Weekend

Decorating By LillyCakes Updated 28 Sep 2010 , 9:24pm by iluvpeeks

LillyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LillyCakes Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 7:43pm
post #1 of 22

Hello all!!
I am new to cake making and have only made a couple so far. I find that I really enjoy doing the decorations.

I want to do a hello kitty cake that resembles this cake
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1675978.html

I know that she used fondant and gum paste but i want to use buttercream. I live in Texas and the weather is supposed to be 84 with hopefully low to no humidity. I want the cake flavors to be white, chocolate, and strawberry. I want both tiers to be the same flavors. I am expecting about 30 people.

Please let me know what the best recipes to use for the cakes and buttercream. Also, what cake sizes should I use, and how tall each cake should be prior to stacking?

I really appreciate you taking the time to look and your ideas!!!
Thanks!!!

21 replies
LaurenLuLu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaurenLuLu Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 22

Wow. You're ambitious. Honestly the cake recipes are the least of your worries.. Use the doctored box mix WASC recipe, it's firm and spongy. Maybe make a 1 layer Hello Kitty shaped cake instead? Wow.

forthwife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forthwife Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 8:16pm
post #3 of 22