Leah's No Bulge Trick

Decorating By walterak Updated 20 Sep 2010 , 4:12pm by thumbs

walterak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
walterak Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 2:44pm
post #1 of 13

I want to try this on my cake I have to decorate Thursday, as I always have a bulge creep up. I am brand new to decorating and just to it on the side...and I have always iced and decorated the same day.

I get the fill it and wrap it and put the tile on...my question is how long do I let it sit for? Are we talking 2 hours or overnight?

If it is overnight...my cake is for Saturday. If I did this part Wednesday and finished icing and decorating Thursday...will my cake still be fresh? Its in the freezer now. I had planned on taking it out Wednesday night so it would be thawed to decorate Thursday.

Thanks...I just want to understand and utilize these great tips from all you pros!

This would be the trick I am talking about
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-633571-.html

12 replies
MaryAllison Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaryAllison Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 2:53pm
post #2 of 13

Oh, please, please share on this topic all of you experts. If I have another buldge, I promise, the kitchen wall will be decorated in buttercream and cake.

Thanking you all in advance!

BCo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCo Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 2:56pm
post #3 of 13

"Put the cake on a board. Fill. Wrap in plastic wrap. Then put a ceramic tile on top. Wait 2 or 3 hours. The ceramic tile should be about the size of the cake. "

The above quote came right from Leahs thread.....it says wait 2 or 3 hours after you put the tile on!

walterak Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 2:59pm
post #4 of 13

HAHA...DUH! I read right past that. Thanks! Is it safe to let it rest overnight though? I guess I should have asked that. I wouldnt mind filling and putting my tile on at about 6pm and then doing the rest the next day. Just curious.

I still can't believe I didn't see that...Its definately MONDAY!!!