Which Fondant Is Best For A Beginner?

Decorating By Erin3085 Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 5:58pm by mydor

Erin3085 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erin3085 Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:29am
post #1 of 10

Ok, so I have my first wedding cake coming up in Nov so I may be bugging you guys a lot! icon_biggrin.gif Luckily the bride knows I'm a novice and is fine with that, so I get a good opportunity to hone some skills!

Anyway, she wants it covered in fondant...6-8-10. The only fondant I have ever used is my own homemade mmf, and it never comes out the same. It's usually pretty soft and kind of melts onto my cake...I haven't really gotten to play with it enough to get it quite right. So I'm buying the fondant for this cake. I have been looking around and see there are a few popular brands. I have no experience with any of them, so which would you guys recommend I try out as a total beginner? I can get my hands on Duff, Satin Ice, Fonarific and Fondx pretty easily. I plan to play with it before I actually use it, but it would be nice to not have to buy them all and find out that way! thumbsdown.gificon_razz.gif

9 replies
4realLaLa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
4realLaLa Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:36am
post #2 of 10

I started out using Wilton and think it helped me to some degree. I now use Fondarific, Duff (with a coupon) and on occasion Wilton. Wilton is cheaper so I would probably try that but it won't give you the taste you might want.

pag41989 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pag41989 Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 1:30pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks for posting this. I was actually wondering the same thing. Also how many pounds of fondant would it take to cover a 10 8 and 6?

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:10pm
post #4 of 10