Mmf Question

Baking By khadijah Updated 21 Sep 2010 , 3:55pm by GingerLashley

khadijah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
khadijah Posted 10 Sep 2010 , 5:17am
post #1 of 16

I'm still a beginner and tried decorating with MMF for the first time yesterday. I melted together about 10 ounces of marshmallows and 2.5 TBS of water. Then added the confectioners sugar until the 'right' consistency was achieved. What bothers me is that I ended up adding less than 3.5 cups sugar! Even though the recipe states 4 cups for 8 oz of marshmallows.
Then I greased the fondant surface, wrapped it up and let it sit overnight on the kitchen counter. When I was using it the next morning, I had to constantly microwave it to make it more pliable. What am I doing wrong?

Attached is a photo of the finished cake. Criticism is appreciated!

15 replies
khadijah Posted 10 Sep 2010 , 5:32am
post #2 of 16

I can't seem to figure out how to attach the photo on here. I uploaded it to my gallery.

bmoser24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bmoser24 Posted 10 Sep 2010 , 6:04am
post #3 of 16

First of all ...your cake and fondant turned out great! I make fondant all the time, and i never measure. I just get a bag of lg mm's (I heard if you use sm, MM's there is more corn starch so results may vary) I add a couple T of water or flavor and micro 2 min.