Is This Tacky?

Business By MandyCakez Updated 6 Sep 2010 , 7:49pm by PieceofCakeAZ

MandyCakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MandyCakez Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 2:18pm
post #1 of 20

I'm trying to promote the heck out of my new business.I've made mini cakes for two friends and they have spread the word like crazy about my cakes which led to a few orders.I was thinking of holding a contest on my FB page where whoever refers the most people will win a customized cake.Is this tacky?I've seen people do it with photography pages and when i was a digi designer i've done it with my graphic kits and it was a huge hit...but with a cake it seems...i dunno.....weird?

19 replies
cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 2:22pm
post #2 of 20

Not weird at all... But in order for a referral to be real they have to order, not just call for info. If the referral doesn't result in an order, it doesn't count, KWIM?

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 2:43pm
post #3 of 20

Please know I'm not trying to stir up the pot, but you state you are in Pitt. which is where my sister lives... I'm just wanting to make sure your business is legit before you start promoting it. There are regulations (if you are baking out of your home) in all the Townships surrounding Pitt proper. Please make sure you have your ducks in a row if they are not already. Again, I'm not trying to make trouble, I just know a bit about how things work around there and would not want you to get into any kind of trouble if you did not know this beforehand.

Brendabeeper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brendabeeper Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 2:45pm
post #4 of 20

I work full time, and to promote I took in cakes to work to share with everyone and everytime I make a cake for someone I post it on my facebook , and I take a photo and pin it on my wall at work, now since I only try to do 1 or two cakes a week, I find my self turning down orders.