Newbie And Question About Decorating Birthday Cake

Decorating By mrsmac888 Updated 1 Sep 2010 , 11:24pm by mrsmac888

mrsmac888 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsmac888 Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 4:59pm
post #1 of 7

Hi. I'm new to this site and so far have found it very addictive! I'd like to get some advice on a cake that I have to make in 2 1/2 weeks for my sister's 50th Birthday. I'm somewhat new to cake decorating. I've done a few, most have turned out impressive for a total novice!

I'm making a 3 tier cake for 100 people. I'd like to make all three tiers from scratch. I don't have time to test new recipes. I'd like one to be chocolate, one white and one red velvet. First question. Do any of you have no fail, easy to decorate, recipes?

Does anyone have a good filling recipe? Like strawberry or the like for the white cake?

I'm decorating with white buttercream. Smooth finish with basket weave on the sides. Decorated with 3D flowers on top. Here is a link to the cake I'd like to make. http://www.cakedecoratingideasfree.com/flower-birthday-cake

I've done royal icing flowers but have never used gumpaste. I'm thinking that the gumpaste is the way to go. Is it smart to try something like gumpaste on a cake that MUST turn out well? Or should I stick with what I know? Is gumpaste a lot more time consuming than royal icing. Does it break as easily as royal icing?

Thank you so much for any advice you can give me! I really appreciate it! icon_rolleyes.gif

6 replies
iamelms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iamelms Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 5:10pm
post #2 of 7

Hey! welcome icon_smile.gif I know there are a lot more knowledgeable people than I, who can help you out. However, I have made this chocolate cake and it was wonderful and was easy to decorate. It's Collette Peter's recipe out of one of her books....I can't remember which icon_smile.gif
2c sugar
2 eggs (at room temperature)
1c milk (also at room temperature)
1c unsweetened cocoa powder