Should I Take A Grocery Store Job?

Decorating By mmgiles Updated 18 Aug 2010 , 8:54pm by cakesdivine

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 18 Aug 2010 , 6:29pm
post #1 of 6

My husband called this morning. While he was in Brookshires the Store Director was telling him about an open position for a cake decorator. He wanted to know if I was interested in a part time job (on top of my full time job). I have been decorating for a few years now and I thought I would be over qualified since I can work with fondant and make gumpaste flowers, etc, but I looked today and they do all of that too. I'm not sure if they go strictly by the book where customers just order from their book or if they deviate from that at all. I've considered a part time job doing this in the past but I dont know what to expect for pay or hours. This would have to be in the evenings and weekends and I would really be doing it temporarily until I can pay off my credit cards and save up a decent emergency fund. I eventually want to be a SAHM and those are things I have to do before I can get there. This might also be what I was looking for in a part time job once I have kids.

Would you take on a part time job on top of a full time job? What could I expect to make?

5 replies
CWIL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWIL Posted 18 Aug 2010 , 6:42pm
post #2 of 6

Well, as far as taking on a part time job on top of your full time job I would say it depends on how fast you want to meet your goal of being a SAHM. I'd say it depends also on your energy level. I've had a part time job on top of a full time job before and it's not easy, but if you enjoy the part time job, it can be fun. Just remember that this will take away all of your free time though. As far as what you can expect to make, I know that grocery stores in my area pay minimum wage. Good luck!

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 18 Aug 2010 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 6