Too Much Batter!

Decorating By Babypickles Updated 1 Aug 2010 , 8:38pm by Babypickles

Babypickles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Babypickles Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 9

Oh my goodness I have not laughed so hard in years! I am very new to this but I have had so much fun experimenting with all the recipes I have found. I made a WASC cake this morning and the recipe said it would make two 9" squares cakes, well I don't have two square pans but I do have two 9" rounds so I figured there can't be much difference. LOL Well somehow, and I still have not stopped laughing long enough to figure it out, I ended up with two 9" round, two 8" round, and a 6"round. LOL I have plenty of cake to freeze and just about as much batter on the counter and all over my shirt (I put my apron on AFTER I poured it all over me) LOL thankfully the cake tastes heavenly! But technically I only needed one 9" round to practice my frozen buttercream transfer. I am also experimenting with that today. I am hoping it turns out right but I suppose practice will make perfect! I do not want to start baking and decorating as a profession but I am having a lot of fun. I can't thank you all enough for all the information you put in to this site and the cakes you all share are incredible!

8 replies
Donnagardner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnagardner Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 7:34pm
post #2 of 9

I am glad you got a kick out of it. Laughing is good therapy. If you used the WASC that has 2 cake mixes in it that is a lot of batter and makes way more than 1 9 inch cake. You can half that and make a smaller amount also if you only need 1 cake. Wrap the other cakes in 2 or 3 layers of saran wrap and freeze them for later. They will taste just as good and you will only have to thaw them out and start to decorate. Happy caking.

Babypickles Posted 1 Aug 2010 , 2:05am
post #3 of 9