Gumpaste 101

Decorating By AnnieCahill Updated 25 Jul 2010 , 3:06pm by KATE39

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 10:27am
post #1 of 37

I have never worked with gumpaste before, and I'd like to give it a try. I have a few questions:

1. Should I make my own or should I use the pre-packaged Wilton stuff? What do you guys prefer? Anyone want to share their favorite recipes?

2. What is the best way to color figures after they have been made? Do you use paste coloring or powder?

3. Really dumb question-maybe I'm missing something. When you order molds for figures, do they give you both halves (like for a true 3D figure)? For example, I would like to try the following mold:

http://www.fancyflours.com/silicone-mold-bird-pair-1.html

I can't tell if you just get one half so it's still flat on one side, or if they give you the set.

4. Can you still "mold" gumpaste once it comes out of the molds? Can I position the heads and tails so the birds look different? I can't really do anything with the wings which is a bummer, but I think I can make them look different enough by moving their tails and heads around.

Thanks for offering any ideas or advice!

Annie

36 replies
Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 10:42am
post #2 of 37

Hey Anniecahill, Sorry cant answer your first question

But for q2, You can colour your gumpaste with paste colours the same way you would fondant before you use it, You can also colour them after they are dried with dusts and colours watered down with some clear alcohol to make a paint

q3, Some figurines do come as a true 3d set, but looking at the one you posted, I dont think it does, it says it only comes as two molds, to create the two birds shown, which to me sounds like they are going to be flat on the back, not 3d.